Age spots

hand

Daily Prompt:  Young At Heart, March 22, 2014

I have old hands.  I only recently noticed and now obsess over the loose, wrinkled skin, knobby knuckles and multiplying age spots.  “Who took my hands and left me with these?”,  I wonder as I drown my worries in creams and balms.

Age has a way of sneaking up on us.  One day you’re twenty-five, firm and spot free.  The next thing you know, you’re in someone else’s “old” skin.  So in lies the challenge: how do we age with grace?

Yeah, yeah – exercise, drink more water, get lots of rest, moisturize and wear sunscreen, work hard but don’t over work.  That’s all great and I’m personally doing all of those things, but I still have old hands.  These hands aren’t going anywhere and I certainly do not have the means for some high-tech laser treatments.  So, I better learn to like them and honor their history.

They’ve done some great stuff.  They colored and painted, fished and harvested, they’ve held my son.  They’ve worked and cleaned, cooked and built things.  They’ve let go of young love and held another in vows of marriage.  They’ve written provocative words – compelling at times, and they’ve written complete crap.

My old hands are certain to do more things.  And, they will always be my hands.  They’ll shape my future, express emotion and help me feel my way through the rest of my life with the knowledge only gained with wrinkles and age spots.

Leave a Reply

